Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Dilated cardiomyopathy

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

The World Health Organization classification of cardiomyopathies has four categories: dilated cardiomyopathy, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, restrictive cardiomyopathy, and arrhythmogenic right ventricular dysplasia–cardiomyopathy. Although there may be some overlap, most patients are classifiable as having one of these types. Dilated cardiomyopathy (DCM), with a dilated left ventricle and systolic dysfunction, is the most common form and the most common reason for heart transplantation in children and adults. Incidences of 0.34 and 1.13 cases per 100 000 children per year have been reported from Finland and the USA. Now, a large …

View Full Text