Article Text

Headache classification

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

According to the 1988 classification of the International Headache Society (IHS) there are 13 different types of headache, the main ones being migraine with aura, migraine without aura, and tension headache. The suitability of this classification for paediatrics and the nosological integrity of the various types have been much debated. Workers in Milan (Livia N Rossi and colleagues. Developmental Medicine and Child Neurology 2001;43:45–51) have tried to distinguish between migraine without aura and tension headache in children, without much …

View Full Text