Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Improvement of walking abilities after robotic-assisted locomotion training in children with cerebral palsy
  1. Andreas Meyer-Heim (andreas.meyer-heim{at}kispi.uzh.ch)
  1. Rehabilitation Centre, Affoltern am Albis, University Children’s Hospital Zurich, Switzerland
    1. Corinne Ammann-Reiffer (corinne.ammann{at}kispi.uzh.ch)
    1. Rehabilitation Centre, Affoltern am Albis, University Children’s Hospital Zurich, Switzerland
      1. Annick Schmartz (annick.schmartz{at}kispi.uzh.ch)
      1. Rehabilitation Centre, Affoltern am Albis, University Children’s Hospital Zurich, Switzerland
        1. Jan Schaefer (jan.schaefer{at}med.uni-muenchen.de)
        1. Department of Child Neurology and Developmental Medicine, Dr. von Haunersches Children’s Hospital, Germany
          1. Felix H Sennhauser (felix.sennhauser{at}kispi.uzh.ch)
          1. University Children's Hospital Zurich, Switzerland
            1. Florian Heinen (florian.heinen{at}med.uni-muenchen.de)
            1. Department of Child Neurology and Developmental Medicine, Dr. von Haunersches Children’s Hospital, Germany
              1. Beat Knecht (beat.knecht{at}kispi.uzh.ch)
              1. Rehabilitation Centre, Affoltern am Albis, University Children’s Hospital Zurich, Switzerland
                1. Edward R Dabrowski (edabrows{at}dmc.com)
                1. Department of Pediatrics, Division of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, Children’s Hospital of, United States
                  1. Ingo Borggraefe (ingo.borggraefe{at}med.uni-muenchen.de)
                  1. Department of Child Neurology and Developmental Medicine, Dr. von Haunersches Children’s Hospital, Germany

                    Abstract

                    Objective: To measure functional gait improvements of robotic-assisted locomotion training in children with cerebral palsy (CP).

                    Design: Single case experimental A-B design.

                    Settings: Rehabilitation Centre Affoltern am Albis, Children's University Hospital Zurich, Switzerland (inpatient group) and Neurology Department of the Dr von Haunersches Children's Hospital Munich, Germany (outpatient group).

                    Participants: 22 children (mean age 8.6 years, range 4.6 to 11.7) with cerebral palsy (CP) and a Gross Motor Function Classification System (GMFCS) Level II to IV underwent robotic-assisted gait training in one of the two centres.

                    Interventions: 3 to 5 sessions of 45-60 min per week during a 3-5 week period of driven gait orthosis (DGO) training.

                    Main outcome measures: 10-meter walk test (10MWT), 6-minute walk test (6MinWT), Gross Motor Function Measure (GMFM-66) dimension D (standing) and dimension E (walking), and Functional Ambulation Categories (FAC).

                    Results: The 10MWT (0.78[plusmn]0.57 to 0.91±0.61m/s; p<0.01) as well as the dimension D of the GMFM-66 (40.3[plusmn]31.3% to 46.6[plusmn]28.7%; p<0.05) improved significantly after the intervention period. The 6MinWT (176.3[plusmn]141.8m to 199.5[plusmn]157.7m), the FAC (2.6[plusmn]1.7 to 3.0[plusmn]1.6) and the dimension E of the GMFM-66 (29.5[plusmn]30.3 to 31.6[plusmn]29.2%) also showed an increase, but did not reach a statistically significant level.

                    Conclusion: These results suggest that children with CP benefit from robotic-assisted gait training in improving functional gait parameters.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.