Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Prevalence of metabolic syndrome at age 16 using the International Diabetes Federation paediatric definition
  1. Jatta Pirkola (jatta.pirkola{at}gmail.com)
  1. Oulu University Hospital, Finland
    1. Tuija Tammelin (tuija.tammelin{at}ttl.fi)
    1. Finnish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
      1. Aini Bloigu (aini.bloigu{at}ktl.fi)
      1. National Public Health Institute, Finland
        1. Anneli Pouta (anneli.pouta{at}ktl.fi)
        1. National Public Health Institute, Finland
          1. Jaana Laitinen (jaana.laitinen{at}ttl.fi)
          1. Finish Institute of Occupational Health, Finland
            1. Aimo Ruokonen (aimo.ruokonen{at}ppshp.fi)
            1. Oulu University Hospital, Finland
              1. Päivi Tapanainen (paivi.tapanainen{at}ppshp.fi)
              1. Oulu University Hospital, Finland
                1. Marjo-Riitta Järvelin (m.jarvelin{at}imperial.ac.uk)
                1. Imperial College, London, United Kingdom
                  1. Marja Vääräsmäki (marja.vaarasmaki{at}oulu.fi)
                  1. Oulu University Hospital, Finland

                    Abstract

                    Objective: We estimated the prevalence of metabolic syndrome (MS) in adolescents using the new International Diabetes Federation (IDF) paediatric definition and compared this with prevalence estimated using the IDF adult definition and five other previously published definitions.

                    Design: Cross-sectional survey in the prospective general population-based Northern Finland Birth Cohort 1986 (NFBC 1986) at age 16 years.

                    Setting: Birth cohort in Finland.

                    Participants: 5665 adolescents (2862 males and 2803 females) clinically examined in 2001-2002.

                    Main outcome measures: The prevalence of MS using different definitions.

                    Results: The overall prevalence of MS using the IDF paediatric definition was 2.4% (95% confidence interval (CI) 2.0 to 2.8%) at the age of 16 years. Using the IDF adult definition the overall prevalence was lower, 1.7% (CI 1.3 to 2.0%, European cut-offs for waist circumference) and 1.0% (CI 0.7 to 1.3%, North American cut-offs).

                    Conclusion: In 16-year old adolescents, the paediatric IDF definition rendered a higher prevalence estimate than the adult definition.

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                    Linked Articles

                    • Atoms
                      Howard Bauchner