Article Text

other Versions

PDF
The association between birth weight and adolescent systolic blood pressure in a caucasian birth cohort differs according to skin type, CRH promoter or 11βHSD2 genotype
  1. Terry Dwyer (terry.dwyer{at}mcri.edu.au)
  1. Menzies Research Institute/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Australia
    1. Leigh Blizzard (leigh.blizzard{at}utas.edu.au)
    1. Menzies Research Institute, Australia
      1. Briony Patterson (briony.patterson{at}utas.edu.au)
      1. Menzies Research Institute, Australia
        1. Anne-Louise Ponsonby (anne-louise.ponsonby{at}mcri.edu.au)
        1. Menzies Research Institute/Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Australia
          1. Kara Martin (martinkl{at}postoffice.utas.edu.au)
          1. Menzies Research Institute, Australia
            1. Stephen Quinn (stephen.quinn{at}utas.edu.au)
            1. Menzies Research Institute, Australia
              1. Michele M Sale (msale{at}virginia.edu)
              1. Menzies Research Institute/University of Virginia School of Medicine, Australia
                1. Stephen M Richards (stephen.richards{at}utas.edu.au)
                1. Menzies Research Institute, Australia
                  1. Ruth Morley (ruth.morley{at}mcri.edu.au)
                  1. Murdoch Childrens Research Institute, Australia
                    1. Stephen Rich (ssr4n{at}virginia.edu)
                    1. Menzies Research Institute/University of Virginia School of Medicine, Australia
                      1. Joanne L Dickinson (jo.dickinson{at}utas.edu.au)
                      1. Menzies Research Institute, Australia

                        Abstract

                        Objective: to examine twhether the inverse association between birth weight and blood pressure varies by skin pigmentation and/or related genotypes Study design: we followed-up 671 children from a predominantly Caucasian birth cohort to adolescence (mean age 14.4; SD 0.64).

                        Methods: Data on birthweight, socioeconomic status, maternal antenatal smoking, adolescent blood pressure and polymorphisms of candidate genes were obtained and analysed by multiple linear regression.

                        Results: an increase in birth weight of one kilogram was associated with a not statistically significant difference in adolescent systolic blood pressure of -0.53 mm Hg (95% CI -1.72 to 0.66mm Hg) per 1kg after adjustment for child age and cohort entry criteria. The inverse birth weight-systolic blood pressure association was stronger for those with darker skin (≥ 2% melanin) (P=0.02), for those with more copies of the C allele of corticotropin-releasing hormone (CRH) + T1273C (P=0.06), and for those with more copies of the short (≤ 236bp) form of the 11β-HSD2 {CA} n repeat microsatellite (P=0.03).

                        Conclusions: These findings add to the evidence that cortisol-related pathways may account for at least part of the observed birth weight-blood pressure associations.

                        Statistics from Altmetric.com

                        Request permissions

                        If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                        Linked Articles

                        • Atoms
                          Howard Bauchner