Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Adaptation of the Manchester-Minneapolis quality of life survey for use in the UK population
  1. Hayley A Hutchings (h.a.hutchings{at}swan.ac.uk)
  1. University of Wales Swansea, United Kingdom
    1. Penney Upton (p.upton{at}sheffield.ac.uk)
    1. University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
      1. Wai-Yee Cheung (w.y.cheung{at}swan.ac.uk)
      1. University of Wales Swansea, United Kingdom
        1. Alison Maddocks (alison.maddocks{at}swansea-tr.wales.nhs.uk)
        1. Swansea NHS Trust, United Kingdom
          1. Christine Eiser (c.eiser{at}sheffield.ac.uk)
          1. University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
            1. John Williams (j.g.williams{at}swan.ac.uk)
            1. University of Wales Swansea, United Kingdom
              1. Ian Russell (ian.russell{at}bangor.ac.uk)
              1. University of Wales Bangor, United Kingdom
                1. Sonia Jackson (sonia.jackson{at}ioe.ac.uk)
                1. University of London, United Kingdom
                  1. Meriel Jenney (meriel.jenney{at}cardiffandvale.wales.nhs.uk)
                  1. Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust, United Kingdom

                    Abstract

                    Introduction:The availability of HRQL measures that are reliable, valid, brief and comprehensible and appropriate for use with UK children is limited. We report the validation of a HRQL measure suitable for UK use in healthy children, those with chronic disease conditions and socially disadvantaged children.

                    Patients:A total of 1238 children took part in the study including healthy children as controls (n=824) and five exemplar groups; children diagnosed with asthma (n= 87), diabetes (n= 103) or inflammatory bowel disease (n= 69), children in remission from cancer (n= 68) and children in public care (n= 87).

                    Methods:In phase I, the Manchester-Minneapolis Quality of Life Survey (MMQL) child form was translated to UK English. In Phases II and III the questionnaire was shortened and validated.

                    Results:MMQL was Anglicised and shortened to 5 subscales comprising 29 items. Good internal reliability was found with alphas reaching at least 0.69 for all subscales. Construct validity was established through moderate correlations with comparable PedsQLTM sub-scales (Pearson's r ranged from 0.38-0.58, p<0.01). Discriminant validity was also demonstrated in children with asthma and IBD, children in remission from cancer and children in public care, all of whom reported significantly lower HRQL than healthy children. Children with diabetes showed similar HRQL to their healthy peers. Good reproducibility and moderate responsiveness were demonstrated for the new measure.

                    Conclusions:The Anglicised and shortened MMQL was shown to be valid and reliable and could be a valuable new tool for the assessment of HRQL in children.

                    • chronic illness
                    • health-related quality of life
                    • paediatrics
                    • public care

                    Statistics from Altmetric.com

                    Request permissions

                    If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                    Linked Articles

                    • Précis
                      BMJ Publishing Group Ltd and Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health