Article Text

other Versions

PDF
Receptive language disorder in childhood: Familial aspects and long term outcomes: Results from a Scottish study
  1. Ann Clark (aclark{at}qmuc.ac.uk)
  1. University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    1. anne o'hare (aohare{at}ed.ac.uk)
    1. University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
      1. Jocelynne Watson (jwatson{at}qmuc.ac.uk)
      1. Queen Margaret University College, United Kingdom
        1. Wendy Cohen (wendycohen{at}btconnect.com)
        1. University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
          1. Hilary Cowie (charlescowie{at}eggconnect.net)
          1. University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
            1. Rob Elton (rob{at}robelton.demon.co.uk)
            1. University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
              1. Jamal Nasir (j.nasir{at}sheffield.ac.uk)
              1. University of Sheffield Medical School, United Kingdom
                1. Jonathan Seckl (j.seckl{at}ed.ac.uk)
                1. Queen's Medical Research Institute, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

                  Abstract

                  Background and Aims: Little is known about the familial characteristics of children with severe receptive specific language impairment (SLI). Affected children are more likely to have long term problems than those with expressive SLI but to date they have only been described as small cohorts within SLI populations. We therefore aimed to describe the clinical and familial characteristics of severe receptive SLI as defined by a rigorous phenotype and to establish whether non-word repetition showed a relationship to language impairment in these families.

                  Method:Cross sectional study of children who met ICD10 (F80.2) criteria for receptive SLI at school entry, their siblings and genetic parents with standardised measures of language and non-verbal IQ, phonological auditory memory and speech sound inventory.

                  Results:At a mean of 6 years after school entry with a severe receptive SLI, the 58 participants had a normal mean and standard deviation non-verbal IQ but only 3% (2) had attained language measures in the normal range. One third still had severe receptive language impairment. One third of the siblings who were not known to be affected had language levels outside the normal range. Phonological auditory memory was impaired in the majority of the family members.

                  Conclusion:Severe receptive SLI is nearly always associated with an equally severe reduction in expressive language skills. Language impairment in siblings may go undetected and yet they are at high risk. Family members had weak phonological auditory memory skills suggesting that this may act as a marker for the language acquisition difficulties. Receptive SLI rarely resolves and trials of therapy are urgently needed.

                  • receptive specific language impairment

                  Statistics from Altmetric.com

                  Request permissions

                  If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

                  Linked Articles

                  • Précis
                    BMJ Publishing Group Ltd and Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health